FINLEY Receives Four ASBI Awards of Excellence

Tallahassee, Fla. – March 7, 2018 – Finley Engineering Group (FINLEY), a Tallahassee-based bridge design and construction engineering firm, received four awards of excellence from the American Segmental Bridge Institute (ASBI) during the ninth biennial, 2017 ASBI Bridge Award of Excellence competition. The FINLEY team was recognized for the following bridge projects: the I-5 Antlers Bridge Replacement, the New Dresbach Bridge, the New Winona Bridge and the Oakley C. Collins Memorial Bridge.

The ASBI Bridge Award of Excellence honors the owners of bridges which “exemplify concrete segmental bridge design and construction excellence.” Judging criteria included innovation of design and/or construction; rapid construction; aesthetics and/or harmony with the surrounding environment; cost competitiveness; and minimization of construction impact on the traveling public. In total, eight projects were selected as exceptional examples of segmental concrete bridge construction.

Located over Shasta Lake in Shasta-Trinity National Forest, Calif., the I-5 Antlers Bridge Replacement was constructed east of the existing steel truss Antlers Bridge and obtained the Award of Excellence for Bridges Over Water. A combination of both natural elegance and structural robustness, the twin bridges are a five-span continuous cast-in-place segmental box girder, measuring at 104’ wide and 1,942’ long. The sturdy seismic design of the structure gives it the ability to withstand an event of an earthquake.

Inspired by the picturesque landscape of La Crescent, Minn./La Cross, Wis., the New Dresbach Bridge sits over the main channel of the Mississippi River and won the Award of Excellence for Long Span and Cable-Stayed Bridges (Spans of 400’ or Greater). The design exhibits how a concrete segment can create an efficient and equally radiant structure. It achieved a new record span length for Minnesota and was designed to brace the harsh winter weather.

The New Winona Bridge, located in Minnesota/Wisconsin, carries TH 43 over the Mississippi River. This design was presented the Award of Excellence for Bridges Over Water. The project scope included the construction of a new concrete box girder and the rehabilitation of the existing historic bridge. This bridge type was selected to avoid impacts on federally-protected migratory birds and minimize visual effects on the existing historic bridge.

Featured along the Ohio River, the Oakley C. Collins Memorial Bridge replaced the former Ironton-Russell Bridge, which was determined functionally obsolete in 2000. This bridge received the Award of Excellence for Long Span and Cable-Stayed Bridges (Spans of 400’ or Greater). Construction of the new bridge began in March of 2012 and was completed in Nov. of 2016. With a 900’ cable-stayed main span, the Oakley C. Collins Memorial Bridge is the longest span the Ohio Department of Transportation has ever built.

To learn more about FINLEY’s Award of Excellence winners, visit

About Finley Engineering Group (FINLEY)
FINLEY is recognized nationally and internationally as a leading design and construction engineering consulting firm specializing in complex bridge projects of all kinds. FINLEY’s expertise includes concrete segmental, steel box, arches and trusses, and long span cable-stayed bridges. FINLEY focuses on large Contractor-driven projects, such as design-build, D/B/F/O/M, Public-Private Partnership (P3) and value engineering/alternative design.

Contact: Carmine Borea, Business Development Manager
(850) 834-1600

Leave a Reply

Note: Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *